Education in South Africa

nelson-mandela-education

I believe that every child should have the right to free public education. It is the responsibility of the government to subsidize public education on behalf of those who wish to take advantage of such an opportunity but are not financially equip to do so. As a prospective political science major and someone who genuinely cares about the welfare of children and the community, I strongly advocate for the implementation of a free educational system and emphasize the importance of education in regards to the effect it has on society and its economy. The prosperity of a nation flourishes as individual intelligence is cultivated. When revenue is invested in education, human capital increases and the overall well-being of society experiences a positive change.

When I traveled to South Africa in spring of 2011, I met so many poverty stricken families who worked long tiring hours just so they could meet their basic needs. They were paid extremely low wages and trekked long distances to their workplace because they did have the excess money to catch the taxi.  When I asked many of these families what their money went toward, most of their answers were similar. Their budget consisted of food, rent, and school fees. There are many families who are adamant about their children receiving their education because they understand that education is the key to future success. The only way that the generational cycle of poverty can end is if the younger generations receive their education and continue on to find a high paying occupation.

Although many families find ways to pull together money to pay their children’s school fees, there are many children who are deprived of an education. My cousin was one of the many children in South Africa who could not attend school because her mother did not have the funds to pay for her education. I looked at my cousin and watched her facial expression as she would watch my other cousins open their textbooks. There was a language barrier between me and my cousin, but her facial expression spoke a thousand words. From that moment I knew I never wanted to see that facial expression on another child’s face.

When I returned from South Africa, I knew that my life’s mission was to establish free public education. I was moved by these people’s convictions toward the importance of education. Children have the potential to reach great heights in society. If governments invest in the knowledge of their people, they will begin to see substantial development. My life goal may be impossible, but my passion is unrelenting.

Leave a comment